Here’s what I know…..

I know that:

  • I miss blogging regularly;
  • I also feel overwhelmed blogging regularly;
  • I feel overwhelmed trying to  keep up with my blogging tribe;
  • I miss the fitness accountability blogging provided for me the past 2 years.

What I plan to do about it:

  • Make no promises to myself or you all about how often I am going to blog;
  • Go with the flow;
  • Catch up with my blogging tribe when I can -I know they know my heart;
  • Get back to using my blog to hold myself accountable to my fitness goals.

 

So let’s get to it with a little wrap of the Month of May:

I often find it helpful in using my blog name to share information:

FIT:

I completed my 2nd triathlon on April 30th (I know that is not in May), took about a week off and transitioned into a weight training- lean muscle building mode as I prepare for my girls trip to Turks & Caicos at the end of June. I was gifted a 8 week nutrition and weight training plan and had committed to using it until we head off at the end of June.  The 1st two weeks of the both the eating plan and workout plan was a little difficult for me. I found to difficult to get motivated to work out and just was not in the mood for the restrictive eating.  My body must have know i wasn’t feeling it because into week 2 I got knocked down with a cold/flu/allergy/sinus something or another. I was in bed for 4 days! Luckily the kiddies and hubby took good care of me and I was able to be well enough to enjoy a wonderful Mothers Day!

Week 3 started slowly as I was still recovering but ended pretty well with decent workouts and eating. I am on a carb cycling schedule that I am finding hard to stick to but I am trying my best. I LOVE CARBS!!!

i-think-my-soulmate-might-be-carbs-love-4031026

Week 4 has started out well with a family workout day on Monday and sequential workout days for me with weights and cardio.  Eating….still a work in progress.

We are 24 days away from out trip…..let’s see what progress I can make by then.

vacation countdown

Balling:

I don’t think I have shared with you all that I have decided not to play football this season. My team went back to playing in a league that I was not willing to support.  Short story….there are a bunch of thug girls that love to fight. One team particular sucker punched one of my team mates 2 seasons ago and cause a huge brawl (picture the Nationals/Giants brawl a few day ago but with women)….yeah not a good look. My children were there as usual and you can imagine how it freaked them out.  Additionally, there were NO consequences given to the team or players who started the fight. We left the league for a season but missed the competition and so the team decided to go back to the league but I just couldn’t.   I have been playing football consistently (outside of pregnancy and injury) for over 15 years, it feels so weird not playing!

Running:

Let’s just say my running shoes have not hit the pavement since my triathlon in April. Good news though……Remember the Luna Chix? As you may recall, Luna discontinued the running group ;(  but  a few of use organized and met with the community group leader for DC Triathlon Club and we are now one of their community groups…yippeee!!! You can find us here! Starting tomorrow June 1st, we will back to our weekly track workouts! I am over the moon excited!!! I have missed my girls so much! I will have more running to update next time ;).

Mom:

Where do I start!!! My babies are such a joy! We are wrapping up the 2016-2017 school year which has just gone by soooooooo fast!!! I can’t believe I will have a 1st grader and a 4th grader in September!!!

My days are spent driving them around to activities. They have busier social lives than me! BUT I LOVE EVERY MINUTE OF IT!!! I love our car rides, our chats, our dance parties and overall fun that we have together.

At the end of the day…they are the reason I smile and me heart is so warm and happy!!

My son is wrapping up his U9 soccer season. The weather has been so crazy in the DMV. They have not had consistent practice or games due to rain. They have battled it out though and have had a great season.  They lost their 1st game in 2 seasons a few weeks ago. It was super tough on them but they needed to feel the pain of defeat. It has driven them to work and play harder for sure. He has decided that he doesn’t want to go to soccer camp and may not want to play in the Fall.


I will be disappointed for sure if he decides not to continue playing soccer but if not, we will find him another sport for sure!

 

Today is my daughter’s last day in Level 3. I can’t believe it! I shared with you all her successes at States which still just blows me away!  Well now she is off to bigger and better things and I do mean BIG!!!

2 weeks ago we had our end of season gymnastics meeting to discuss her season and to learn if she will move onto Level 4.

The coaches have been so impressed with how far she has come along this past season, that not only will she be moving onto Level 4, she has been invited to the developmental training team.

The developmental training team is a fast track program that allows gymnasts to learn skills at their level but also above level if/when they are ready.

The developmental training team also puts her in a group that will provide her the opportunity (based on her coach discretion) when she turns 7 to test for TOPS. TOPs (Talent Opportunity Program) is a talent search and educational program for female gymnasts ages 7-10.

It’s purpose is to assist coaches with early identification of potentially talented athletes and to nurture and assist in the development of these athletes and their coaches and to provide competitive opportunities.

Although TOPS team placement is not a guarantee- just the potential of the opportunity is AMAZING!!!


What can I say my babies make me the proudest mom ever!!

Well, I think that is all I have for you right now.  I will be back soon to share with you my weekly goals that I will use to hold me a bit more accountable.

stayTuned-1


I know I have been away….let me know what’s been going on with you! I do miss you!! Any particular blog posts of yours I should read?



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Here’s what I know…..

  1. Coco says:

    It’s hard to find the right balance with blogging, but it can’t interfere with your life. Good for you for sticking to your principles even though it means not playing football. Maybe it was an easy decision because you feel strongly, but I’m sure it’s a sacrifice for your principles — another great example for your kids!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment