MCRRC-Candy Cane 5k 2015 Race ReCap

After getting back into running and after joining a few group runs )Black Girls Run and Moms Run This Town), I decided to join the Montgomery County Road Runners Club.  I really was impressed with their mission which reads:

The mission of the MCRRC is to promote and encourage running.

We are one of the largest, most active running clubs in the nation, known for our low-key but high-quality club races, training runs, special events, and other activities. We offer programs and opportunities for all types of runners, from newcomers to experienced. Whether your goal is to run a marathon or just to get into shape, you’ll find other club members who share your interests.

What I liked most about the MCRRC was the low key aspect of their races.  There is no big hopla, swag bags, medals, etc just runners/walkers wanting to participate in a race. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE bling and nice swag but when I can just wake up and run a race (making a last minute decision)-I really do love that.

The MCRRC Candy Cane 5k is one of those low key races. The Candy Cane run takes place is a part of a local park in Montgomery County, MD which is a part of the Rock Creek Trail.

This race was slated to be the end of the track season celebratory race.  A race where we will put our speed work to the test.

The night before, I was trying to figure out what to wear.  The weather was suppose to about mid 40s but feel right at 41.  I used the Runner’s World What To Wear website  which says:  Unsure what to wear on your run? You’ve come to the right place. Enter a few details in the tool below and we’ll provide expert advice about the right stuff to wear. Great!

Here is what it told me to wear:

Here’s what we recommend for a woman running a race on a 40 degree, clear morning with no wind.

Sunglasses,Short-Sleeve ShirtShorts– Wait What!!! I said 40 degrees and you want me to wear shorts and a short sleeve…oh heck no!!!

The I remembered that earlier in the week, Deborah wrote a Winter Running-What to Wear For Every Temp post.  So I decided to check out her table to see what her thoughts were for 40 degree running temps.

Winter-Running2-410x1024

Ok here we go….this makes a bit more sense! Full length tights, Long sleeve and vest or light jacket, thermal headband and gloves. No we are talking. So I got my outfit ready.

image

My jacket, hat and gloves were waiting for me by the front door!

I got to bed much later than I would have liked to but tried not to count the hours before the alarm would go off.  I set my alarm for 6 am.  I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow and slept pretty soundly.  I actually woke up just before my alarm as one of the kiddies got up to use the bathroom. I got up and got dressed. Got my water  ready.  (Side note: Have you tried SOS hydration?)

image

I headed out the door at 6:30.  The day was beautiful but quite chilly

image

The plan was to meet with the ladies at 7:15 to give us time to warm up ( 1 mile and dynamic stretches) and of course take pictures 🙂

candy cane 5k

DC Luna Chix and friends

Earlier in the week our track lead, Sarah  said that she would send me a race plan. She got a bit busy and was not able to send it, so we talked as we warmed up.  She gave me the plan which I thought was a bit ambitious but was up for the challenge. She recommended that I use one of the DC Luna Chix as a pacer as I often did during our track workouts. Ok we were set to go. An announcement was made that the race would start in 10 minutes and to make out way to the start line. We all headed over to find our spaces in the start line. At exactly 8am, the race started.

The path was a bit narrow and so it took a little bit of energy to maneuver our way to a good place so that we could settle into our pace.

Mile 1-7:54/mile pace…ok doing good and feeling good

Mile 2-7:48/mile pace…ok I am starting to feel like I am pushing it a bit too hard but still feeling good

Mile 3-8:12/mile pace…ok so yup I was pushing it a bit too much on mile 2…it’s all good-you got this Tamieka!

The Rock Creek Trail is so beautiful and nicely windy so you don’t get bored at all with the scenery!

Candy Cane City 5K - Photo by Ken Trombatore

I need to work on my form! Candy Cane City 5K – Photo by Ken Trombatore

Mile .2 (I went over .1)- 6:14/mile pace…this is where Sara was cheering us on and pushing me to kick it in and finish strong…just like we do at the track…you got this Tamieka….Let’s Go!!!

Candy Cane 5k Challenged Finish Time….24:51….8/minute pace

Candy Cane 5k Actual Finish Time…..24:23….7:51/minute pace…BOOM!!!

Oh and I placed 2nd in my age group and 13th overall!!!!! What the what….that has never happened!  Feeling pretty damn good!

13/152    2/24     174 Tamieka T.

After finishing, I joined the rest of the girls as we cheered on the rest of the group.  I finished my SOS and grabbed a banana.  As everyone came in, we headed out for a 1 mile cool down run and stretch.  Some of the girls made friends with the photographer and so we got a few action group shots. They are GREAT shots!!

Candy Cane City 5K - Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K – Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K - Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K – Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K - Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K – Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K - Photo by Ken Trombatore

Candy Cane City 5K – Photo by Ken Trombatore

We headed to a local deli for breakfast, which was delicious and the conversation and commodity was a great way to end our time together.

Not only because of my finish but because of the support, encouragement and great finish of all of the DC Luna Chix and friends the Candy Cane 5k race was AMAZING!!!

How was your weekend? Did you race this weekend?

Let’s stay connected follow me on: Twitter,InstagramFacebook

19 thoughts on “MCRRC-Candy Cane 5k 2015 Race ReCap

  1. Alanna says:

    Congrats on 2nd place, Tamieka! Such a fun race!
    I always have the worst time deciding what to wear and I’m pretty sure at this point that I’m never going to figure it out. I’m not so sure about that Runner’s World What to Wear either. lol
    Hooray for all of the free race pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Umm, BAM!! Congrats on the race!! Nice job mama!! DC Road Runners has a similar club with super low key races. I’m a member but haven’t been able to get to a race yet!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    Congrats on such a fantastic race! I am so happy for you! I’ve run several of the MCRRC races and they always do a great job. I ran Marathon in the Parks five years in a row with my husband, and just this year I ran the Parks Half with my son. I used to coach for the AIDS Marathon Training Program and my group met at Candy Cane Park. We did the majority of our training on those trails, so when I run through there I feel like I’ve gone back home!

    RW’s suggestion of shorts and a short sleeved shirt would be perfect for me in 40° temps, and anything more would have me way too hot and struggling to perform well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Wow!What a great time (literally & figuratively). How I wish I could run that fast.

    I wore a quarter zip, windbreaker, carpris with compression sleeves in fairly similar conditions — I wish I’d worn my short sleeve top (I laid it out too because I can never figure out what to wear unless it’s like over 60!).

    Great job! So happy for you (while being so envious, too).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment